A Luddite Rant

“It started with a father texting his daughter during the previews of a movie. It ended with the 43-year-old father shot dead amid the theater seats, and a 71-year-old retired police officer in custody in the shooting.” Full story here.

I’m not justifying murder. Far from it. But the insufferable ubiquity of inappropriate smartphone usage is a scourge that we all suffer from – every day, all day. I drive and I see cars swerving because people are busy texting instead of watching the road. I sit in restaurants and see couples immersed in their phones, not looking at one another. I wake up my kids in the morning and the first thing they do is reach for their phones and check Whatsapp.

I’m not a Luddite. But society must impose some rules, if only for the sake of common decency and good manners (and my sanity!). I believe cinemas and theatres should use jammers to block phone signals (allowing for emergency calls only). I believe more restaurants should provide incentives for not using cellphones on their premises. And I believe governments should allocate budgets for educating the teeming masses about proper smartphone etiquette.

One thought on “A Luddite Rant

  1. Pingback: A Luddite Rant – Addendum | Nafka Mina

Leave a Reply

