Making a Statement

Today, I parted with 11 of my books.

For those who know me, this is no trivial matter. I never part with a book. Over the years, I have amassed about 2,000 books and I am personally attached to each and every one of them. Even to those that are in electronic format on my Kindle.

So why did I send away 11 of my books? Because I felt I had to make a statement. It might seem like a silly way to make a statement. But the matter in hand has been gnawing at me for three weeks now and I felt I had to do something, anything, to make a point.

Three weeks ago, it emerged that a group of rabbis sent the former president of Israel, Moshe Katsav, a letter of support after he was convicted of rape and sexual harassment.I wrote about this letter here.

One of these rabbis is Shlomo Aviner, a well-known figure in Israel, who is also the author of many books. I have had 11 of his books, including, among others, a four-volume commentary on the Kuzari and books with lessons on the Five Scrolls.

I was never a great fan of Aviner’s opinions. He justified the killing of wounded and captured terrorists. He called a Jewish terrorist who murdered 29 innocent people a “saint”. Only a few months ago he signed another letter, calling for Jews not to rent their homes to Arabs. Despite my revulsion at his opinions, I have tried to separate the man from his teachings and learn from his books. A few years ago, I studied the Kuzari every Shabbat with a friend, using Aviner’s commentary.

But the Katsav letter was the straw that broke the camel’s back.

Today, I packed all 11 books and mailed them to Shlomo Aviner, with the letter appearing below (in Hebrew). The gist of the letter is that I am no longer willing to have his books in my home, as I no longer consider him to be a rabbinic authority. Initially, I had planned to drive to his home and return the books to him personally. But Aviner lives in Bet El in the West Bank, so I decided the trip was not worth breaking my 20+ year record of not crossing the Green Line.

There is an expression in Hebrew that goes: “The dogs bark but the convoy passes”. I am aware that my barking will not stop the convoy. It will not even make the convoy pause or look in my direction. But sometimes you feel you need to make a statement, irrespective of the inefficacy of this statement.

בס”ד, ח’ אדר ב’, תשע”א

שלמה אבינר

בית אל

לפני כשש שנים פרסמת מאמר בו כתבת שמותר להרוג מחבל פצוע שנלכד, מטעמי הרתעה ומשום שיש סיכוי טוב שישוחרר בעתיד מן הכלא. רציתי להאמין שהדברים הוצאו מהקשרם. באותה תקופה גרתי בחו”ל ולמדתי את ספר הכוזרי מדי שבת ביחד עם חבר מתוך הפירוש שלך. התקשיתי להסביר את עמדתך לחברי, ששאל כיצד רב מתיר להרוג שבוי ללא משפט.

לפני שנתיים פרסמת תשובה בה כינית את הרוצח ברוך גולדשטיין, שלקח את החוק לידיו וטבח בחפים מפשע, בתואר “צדיק”. גם הפעם רציתי להאמין שהדברים הוצאו מהקשרם, אך היה קשה יותר, כי הדברים תועדו וצולמו.

לפני חודש פורסם שצרפת את שמך למכתב תמיכה ששלחו רבנים לנשיא לשעבר משה קצב, שהורשע באונס, במעשים מגונים ובהטרדה מינית. הפעם כבר היה ברור שהדברים לא הוצאו מהקשרם משום שלא רק שלא חזרת בך אלא אף הגנת על עמדתך בפני תלמידיך ובתקשורת.

התמיכה בנשיא קצב היתה מבחינתי הקש ששבר את גב הגמל. נניח לרגע בצד את טיעוני הממלכתיות של תמיכה במערכת המשפט הישראלית, ונניח לרגע גם שאתה יודע טוב יותר משלושה שופטים כיצד לפרש את חומר הראיות. הכיצד רב בישראל מביע תמיכה באדם, רם מעלה ככל שיהיה, שהודה במפורש (במסגרת עסקת הטיעון) בביצוע עבירות מין! נניח לרגע גם שלא היה אונס. כיצד רב בישראל מביע תמיכה באדם שהודה בניאוף?

מבחינתי אינך רב ואינך מייצג שום דבר הקשור ליהדות – ההלכתית והתרבותית – כפי שאני מבין אותה. במקום בו יש חילול השם אין חולקין כבוד לרב. אני מחזיר לך את הספרים פרי עטך שרכשתי במהלך השנים. איני מעוניין שספרים אלו יהיו תחת אותה קורת גג בבית בו אני מחנך את ילדיי לתורה ולמצוות.

Share

2 thoughts on “Making a Statement

  1. Recently a religiously observant family friend expressed sorrow over Katsav’s conviction. I can’t help but think that all too many observant men believe the law exists to protect their vices.

Leave a Reply

